| Stephen McKnight | 
    Richard Hamblen | 
  
   
    21. 
      Woodfolk HQ bow 
       
       Does the Woodfolk HQ Have a Medium Bow? The Woodfolk 
      HQ has an M** on his counter rather than an L**, which looks like a medium 
      bow. 
      Nevertheless, he is an Archer, and the "List of Natives" clearly 
      says that Archers have a length of 14 (Light Bow). Should the WHQ be played 
      to have a length of 16 (Medium Bow) instead? 
       | 
     
       Answer
        The Woodfolk HQ has a Medium bow, with a length 
        of 16. He was just left off the list of characters. 
         
     | 
  
   
    |   22. 
        Sense Danger and Color Magic chit 
         
         Can "Sense Danger" Be Activated by a 
        Color Magic Chit? "Sense Danger" is a permanent spell that gives 
        a character an extra alert spell in purple. I assume that the spell must 
        be active when moves are recorded at Birdsong and also when the phase 
        is taken during Daylight. 
      As a permanent spell, it falls inert at midnight 
        and can be activated in any following day by color present in the clearing 
        at Daybreak from the tile, from an artifact, or from the day of the month. 
        Bit what about color from a character's enchanted chits? 
         
        Color chits can be played to activate a permanent spell during Daylight 
        at the beginning of any phase of the character's or any other character's 
        turn or during combat (Rule 42.9/2b). But this is after Birdsong when 
        moves are recorded. There seems to be no way that "Sense Danger" 
        can be activated at Birdsong through the use of a color magic counter, 
        and therefore "Sense Danger" can't be used with color magic 
        chits. Is this right? 
     | 
     
       Answer
        Bad assumption. See rule 43.3 for specifics. You 
        may fairly ask, what's that rule doing there, of all places? Didn't know 
        where else to put it, with the rules structured as they are. 
     | 
  
   
    |   23. 
        Duplicated Curses 
         
         The Remedy spell says it removes one spell or Curse 
        in the spellcasters clearing, and adds, "Duplicates of the spell 
        or Curse are not affected." This implies, I believe, that if a character 
        has received the same Curse twice (two instances of DISGUST, for example), 
        "Remedy" must be cast twice to remove the Curse and its duplicate. 
      I was not accustomed to even recording duplicate 
        Curses, since the according to Rule 15.2 "[If a character] gets a 
        Curse that he already has, he suffers no additional effects--repetitions 
        of the same Curse have no effect." Additionally, the Curse table 
        says, "Duplicates of the same Curse have no additional effect. If 
        a character gets a Curse that duplicates a Curse he already has, the additional 
        Curse is ignored." 
         
        But although the effects of the duplicate Curse are ignored, these passages 
        don't say that the duplicate Curse doesn't exist. This doesn't usually 
        come up because Curses are usually removed by spending a night at the 
        Chapel that removes all Curses, not just one. The "Exorcise" 
        spell also removes all Curses in effect. But "Remedy" seems 
        to be more limited and requires that duplicate Curses be kept track of 
        and removed one at a time. 
      Is this right, or is there some other meaning to 
        the reference to "duplicate" Curses in Remedy? 
     | 
     
       Answer
        You might be right about the implication, but 
        the fact is that the rule is WRONG in referring to "duplicates of 
        Curses". I don't know how this happened--I never caught it in the 
        second edition rulebook--but my reference edition of the first edition 
        rulebook clearly indicates that one remedy removes one curse completely, 
        not matter how many times the target has been hit with that curse. My 
        original longhand of the Spell description say "Duplicates of the 
        spell are not affected", with no reference to Curses. My guess is 
        that someone at Avalon Hill decided to be helpful and added the reference 
        to Curses, and I never caught it. 
        Actually, I am pretty sure this came up in a General question box, while 
        I was still answering the questions (i.e. first edition). 
      The rules lawyer in me wants to say something like 
        "OK, then, the duplicate Curse exists, but the rules make clear that 
        it has no effect on play--so treat it as a ghost Curse, without effect". 
        Those rule lawyer instincts getcha into trouble every time. When Remedy 
        removes a specific curse, it also removes all duplicates of that curse, 
        whether they exist or not. 
      I have no idea of what the reference to duplicates 
        curses in Remedy means, because it doesn't belong there! I didn't put 
        it there! It's wrong! 
     | 
  
   
    24. 
      Permanent control spells 
       
       In the pink boxed summary at the beginning of the 
      Fourth Encounter section of the Second Edition rules, the entry for Sunset 
      under the Daily Sequence of Play states that an attention chit is taken 
      from clearings containing, among others, a controlled monster. Since controlled 
      monsters behave like hired leaders, this seems reasonable enough. However, 
      the three monster controlling spells (Control Bats, Guide Spider or Octopus, 
      Dragonfang Necklace) are all day spells, which means that they expire at 
      Sunset. So, technically, at this point in time, there cannot be a single 
      controlled monster on the map. Is this simply an oversight, or am I missing 
      something? | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Well, the fact is...there are permanent control 
        spells. In the Expansion kits. I just wanted to be ready, in case the 
        expansion kits ever actually happened.  | 
  
   
    25. 
      Deal with Goblins and Black magic 
       
       Here is a straightforward question, the answer to 
      which, to my deep surprise, I have never seen mentioned in any FAQ, Q&A, 
      or errata: the List of Spells states that Deal with Goblins requires Grey 
      magic, whereas the spell card has Black. So, which is it? Since I see no 
      reason why pacifying goblins should involve Demonic Power, I assume that 
      the card is wrong. | 
     
       Answer 
         
        AHA! This is simply a mistake that crept into the 
        second edition rulebook. The card is right--it should be Black Magic, 
        as specified in the First Edition rulebook. 
        As for the verisimilitude argument (why Black?), it is terror that drags 
        the Goblins to the bargaining table. "Deal with Goblins" doesn't 
        bedazzle the Goblins, it intimidates them.  | 
  
   
    |   26. 
        Free flying denizens 
         
        When a character, hired leader, or controlled monster 
        flies away from combat, he has to record a Fly phase as his first activity 
        on the next turn, which he uses to land. If the spell is cast on an uncontrolled 
        monster or unhired leader, when does the denizen land (since he does not 
        get a turn)? 
       I would say that end of combat is not a good idea, 
        since the denizen might land in a clearing where combat has not yet been 
        resolved this turn; that would be undesirable, since the same cannot happen 
        when the spell is cast on a character, hired leader, or controlled monster. 
      This suggests that a better time would be either 
        Daylight (i.e. before the first character moves), or Sunset (i.e. after 
        the last character moves). Another possibility would be immediately before 
        or after the spellcaster's next turn. 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Free flying denizens should land as the very first 
        thing during Sunrise, after the attention chits are mixed together but 
        before any are picked (i.e. as the first thing in step 4 in the Daily 
        Sequence of Play on page 43). Oddly enough, I can recall this coming up 
        only once, during a tournament.
 The idea is to have free denizens land at roughly 
        the same time as flying characters, i.e. during Daylight. 
      Daylight, right. At the start of the day so they 
        can affect play that day--I find it hard to visualize them floating around 
        in the air all day, out of action.  
     | 
  
   
    |   27. 
        Repositioning denizens 
         
        This is not a question, but an error which I have 
        not seen mentioned in any FAQ, Q&A, or errata. All three tables for 
        repositioning denizens are wrong. This error is very minor, since I doubt 
        anyone actually uses the tables when figuring out where to place denizens, 
        but it has always bothered me. 
         
        In all three tables, the entries for 5 (shift down and right) and 6 (shift 
        up and left) are switched. Just compare with the textual description in 
        Rule 22.5/2.  | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Hah! You're right. I even have the correction noted 
        in my correction copy of the second edition rulebook. I had completely 
        forgotten this error existed! I presume I told someone about it...?  | 
  
   
    |   28. 
        Pack Horses 
         
        Here is something that has always puzzled me: advanced 
        rule 2 (Pack Horses) seems no do nothing but re-state at great length 
        what is already in rule 3.6/4. I am guessing that this redundancy may 
        have been introduced in the transition to the second edition rules? 
      | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Good question. Good answer, too--"transition 
        to the second edition rules" is exactly right, and I won't burden 
        either of us with the details. Unless you ask for them.  | 
  
   
    |   29 
        Demon' spell attack 
         
        When a Demon's Power of the Pit attack is nullified 
        by a spell (either Exorcise or Protection from Magic), is he still deemed 
        to have hit (i.e. does he turn red side up)? I would assume so, but just 
        checking...   | 
     
       Answer 
         
        NO! The spell's got to hit for him to turn red side 
        up. 
          | 
  
   
    |   30 
        Spells order 
         
        When placing spells in boxes that hold multiple 
        spells (Spell Books and Sites) what is the order that they are placed, 
        is it as written, so the first spells listed are on the bottom, or the 
        other way around? 
       For example, are the Good Book spells from TOP 
        of the pile to BOTTOM of 
        the pile: 
        Type VII Spell 
        Type VII Spell 
        Type I Spell 
        Type I Spell 
       So, for example, if the White Knight wants to 
        Learn the Type I spells, he would have to cycle through the two Type VII 
        spells first? 
         
         
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Yes, the idea was to put them in the box in the 
        order listed, with first listed first in the box, i.e. on the bottom. 
        It was indeed intended to put the lowest-numbered Spells on the bottom, 
        to encourage characters to read the whole book. It was also intended to 
        give the Magician a bit of an advantage, since he can read and use the 
        high-numbered spells. 
       Of course, the players are free to make a house 
        rule to shuffle the cards, if they prefer. Some players have always seemed 
        to prefer this, and I have played the game that way myself. I suppose 
        they envision themselves opening the book to a random page and reading 
        what is there. I, on the other hand, feel that magic books would have 
        a strong sense of protocol and would resist being read out of order. And 
        then there's the point that the characters would have to start at the 
        beginning in order to learn the simpler spells before they could learn 
        the more powerful spells at the back of the book. Sort of like a testbook. 
     | 
  
   
    |   31. 
        Regenerating Bewitched Denizens 
       If a monster/native is bewitched by a spell (Transform, 
        for example) and regenerates to the Setup Card, does it remain bewitched? 
      So if a Dragon has been Transformed to a bird and 
        the Dragon returns to the Setup Card on Day 14 because Dragons are prowling, 
        is it still under the influence of the spell when it returns to the board? 
      I don't see anywhere in the rules that the spell 
        is broken when the monster returns to the Setup Card, and I wouldn't expect 
        a prowling garrison native who returns to his dwelling to lose the spell. 
        So I assume that the denizen stays bewitched even on the Setup Card, the 
        Magic chit is still committed to the spell, and the spell-casting character 
        can't use the spell again. 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        No. Regenerating releases all spells. When a denizen 
        goes back onto the Appearance Chart, all Spells on it are broken. This 
        is hinted at in note 2 of the WISHES table, and it supposed to be somewhere 
        else in the rules, but I can't find it--maybe it got excised without me 
        noticing? 
          | 
  
   
    |   32. 
        Battling Hired Underlings/Random Assignment to Natives (1) 
         
        If a character and his unhired underlings are in 
        a clearing with monsters/unhired natives and the character runs away, 
        do the underlings continue to fight to the death? When does combat stop? 
         
        Rule 32.7 says: "Underlings cannot start a fight by themselves, but 
        once combat begins they fight just like hired leaders." 
         
        When combat begins, it's pretty clear that monsters and unhired natives 
        are assigned to attack the underlings even if the character is not in 
        the clearing: 
         
        Rule 34.3/2 (Random Assignment) says: "a. 
        ... A character must roll only if he is unhidden and in the clearing, 
        or if he has an unhidden native in the clearing... b. The character who 
        rolls highest must assign the attacker to himself, if he is unhidden and 
        in the clearing; otherwise he must assign it to one of his unhidden hired 
        natives." 
         
        Finally, in the question of when combat ends, Rule 34.9 is pretty explicit: 
        "Combat ends in the clearing when no characters or hired natives 
        are left in the clearing. When a character or hired native remains, rounds 
        of combat are repeated until nothing is killed, damaged, wounded, or fatigued 
        for two consecutive rounds." 
         
        So it sounds as if a character is in the clearing and causes combat to 
        start, even if he runs his hired underlings have to fight until they kill 
        or are killed, or until 2 rounds of combat go by with nothing killed. 
       However, the turn summary in 26.1 says, under Resolving 
        Combat in a Clearing: "3. The individuals in the clearing do rounds 
        of combat until there are no characters or *hired leaders* in the clearing, 
        or until there are two consecutive rounds in which nothing is killed, 
        no action chits are inactivated and no tremendous monsters are red-side-up." 
         
        I think the "hired leaders" in 26.1 is in error. Any comment? 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        The above is correct and you're right. There's a 
        story about the "hired leaders" in 26.1, but who cares.  | 
  
   
    |   33. 
        Battling Hired Underlings/Random Assignment to Natives (2) 
         
        If a character is not in the clearing or is hidden, 
        and he rolls for random assignment, he can assign the monster/unhired 
        native to any of his hired natives in the clearing. 
         
        So could he assign all the monsters/unhired natives to only one of his 
        hirelings by random assignment and leave the others without an attacker? 
        Even though each native could only lure *one* monster or hired native? 
         
        Rule 34.3/2b seems to say so: "The character who rolls highest must 
        assign the attacker to himself, if he is unhidden and in the clearing; 
        otherwise, he must assign it to one of his unhidden hired natives. There 
        is no limit to the attackers that can be assigned to a hired native randomly."  | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Okay, what these rules are supposed to mean is that: 
        1. The character must roll for each unassigned denizen who wants to attack 
        him. 
        2. When he "wins" an attacking denizen, he can assign it to 
        any of his forces in the clearing, including himself. However: 
        a. If he is in the clearing, he can assign no more than one attacking 
        denizen to each of his hired natives. The character himself gets all the 
        remaining attackers. 
        b. If he is NOT in the clearing, he must assign the attacking denizens 
        to his hired natives, one per hireling. If there are more attackers than 
        hirelings, he still must assign the remaining attackers to his hirelings, 
        until all of the attackers are assigned. Necessarily, then, in this case 
        some hireling(s) will get more than one attacker. 
        Which raises the question, is he free to 
        assign them as he chooses, assigning one attacker to each hireling and 
        then massing all of the remaining attackers against one unfortunate hireling? 
        Yes, he can do this. When the character is not in the clearing himself, 
        he must assign each attacker to a different hireling until he runs out 
        of attackers or hirelings. Once each of his hirelings has an attacker, 
        the character is allowed to assign additional attackers to his hirelings 
        as he chooses. 
        
 Jim Stahler once raised this issue, and made a 
        good case that the attackers should be spread among the hirelings as much 
        as possible. This does seem more fair, and I accept it as a house rule, 
        but I prefer the character get the unfair advantage of deploying his attackers 
        to his advantage--one of the perks of being a character, I guess. 
     | 
  
   
    |   34. 
        Dragon Essence in Valley and Woods Tiles 
         
        Does the Dragon Essence treasure only attracts Dragons 
        in Cave tiles or Mountain tiles (including Deep Woods)? Dragon Essence 
        doesn't attract Dragons in valley or woods tiles, does it? 
         
        I have always assumed this was the case. The Setup Card has SMOKE(M) and 
        SMOKE(C) on it, so I figured that Dragon Essence in an M tile attracted 
        the SMOKE(M) dragons and in a C tile it attracts the SMOKE(C) dragons. 
        The reason I ask is because if you look at the treasure definitions for 
        Dragon 
        Essence under 3. DAYLIGHT Cards, it says: "In a tile with a cave 
        clearing it counts like a SMOKE C chit; otherwise it counts like SMOKE 
        M chit." 
         
        If I read this literally, it sounds like Dragon Essence would attract 
        Dragons to valley and woods tiles! The definition on the card ("Treat 
        like Smoke Chit") is much more what I had always played: in a "C" 
        tile it attracts SMOKE C dragons, in an "M" tile it attracts 
        the SMOKE M monsters, and in a V or W tile it doesn't attract anything.  | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Sigh. Dragon Essence is supposed to work the way 
        you think it does--it is supposed to attract Dragons only to Caves and 
        Mountains, not Woods and Valleys. In the rule you quoted about "other 
        clearings", the general phrasing was just to include the Deep Woods, 
        not all the other tiles. I assumed that the reader would realize that 
        Dragons appear only in the Caves and Mountains, which of course you did. 
        In fact, that's they way it has to be. Dragons cannot be summoned to a 
        clearing that contains unhired natives--the rules are just not there to 
        cover what to do. 
        So the rule should be "In any treasure tile without a cave, it summons 
        Dragons like a SMOKE M chit".  | 
  
   
    |   35. 
        Hired Natives "Wished Elsewhere" 
         
        On the Wish Table, if you wish a hired native is 
        elsewhere, he goes back to the setup card. Is he considered to be unhired 
        for regeneration purposes? 
       Since hired natives don't regenerate, do you have 
        to wait until his term of hire runs out before he's eligible to regenerate 
        on the 7th, 14th, 21st, or 28th of the month. Or does he automatically 
        become unhired when he gets wished back to the Setup Card? 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        When he hits the APPEARANCE CHART, he instantly 
        becomes unhired.  | 
  
   
    |   36. 
        Magic Sight (1) 
         
        When using Magic Sight and receiving a roll of 3, 
        assuming one has discovered the Cairns or Pool, is it necessary to fatigue 
        a chit to draw the treasure?  | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Yes, you must fatigue in both cases. The Pool treasure 
        location displays the message "fatigue each draw"; there is 
        nothing in the rules to indicate that what caused the draw makes any difference. 
        Similarly, the Cairns display "fatigue each SEARCH", and both 
        LOOT and MAGIC SIGHT spring from the SEARCH activity, so both get fatigued.  | 
  
   
    |   37. 
        Magic Sight (2) 
         
        When using Magic Sight and receiving a roll of 3 
        or 2, assuming one has discovered the Vault or Crypt of the Knight, must 
        a T chit be fatigued to draw a treasure or horse/weapon counter? 
       Our interpretation so far has been "no" 
        to both questions. The fatiguing and use of T chits is only described 
        under the Loot table section, which doesn't apply to a character using 
        Magic Sight. No such restrictions are discussed in the Magic Sight section. 
        Just as the character is immune to curses when learning spells using Magic 
        Sight, we figure there could be similar differences when drawing treasures. 
        However, this could be just another oversight in the rules, and some players 
        have argued otherwise. 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        The short answer is yes, you must fatigue a T chit 
        (or use the lost keys, of course) to draw treasures from the Vault or 
        Crypt. The long answer is, not exactly. There are differences between 
        the Vault and Crypt. See rule 9.3/3b.
 1. The Vault. The T penalty (or lost keys) is used 
        once per game, to open the Vault. Thereafter treasures are taken from 
        it normally, by everyone. Magic Sight can be used to search it. No, you 
        cannot use the keys to lock up the Vault again. 
      2. The Crypt: The T penalty (or lost keys) are 
        needed each time you try to take a treasure from the site. You cannot 
        use the Magic Sight table or the Loot table--you must use the "Crypt 
        of the Knight" table on the Set Up card. You must use T strength 
        or the lost keys each time you roll on this table. 
       This is actually an example of the dangers of 
        trying to write rules that are both precise and concise. On the setup 
        card, the penalties are described as "each SEARCH" or "each 
        draw". The implication is that the search table you use does not 
        matter, since it is not specified. If I had wanted the penalty to apply 
        only to the LOOT table, I would have said so on the Set Up card or in 
        the rules, or both. 
      I agree that rule 9.3 can be misleading, because 
        it uses the word "loot" in two ways. When "loot" is 
        printed in lowercase, it refers to taking (or trying to take) a treasure, 
        regardless of the table being used. When "LOOT" is printed in 
        uppercase, it refers only to the LOOT table. Obviously, I spent too much 
        time looking for a decent synonym for loot, when I should have just given 
        up and explained what the uppercase meant. When you're trying to be concise 
        everywhere, sometimes a baby goes out with the bathwater. Oops.  
     | 
  
   
    |   38. 
        Spells and Hired Natives 
         
        Can you cast spells on hired natives or do they 
        "rebel" when they are selected as a target for a spell? Below 
        is a more complete description of the question (from a posting on www.magicrealm.net): 
         
        I've been going through various scenarios, and I've come up with this 
        question for the group. Rule 32.7/6 says "When a character specifies 
        one of his own hired natives as a target for himself or one of his hired 
        natives, all members of the target's group that are currently under hire 
        to that character instantly rebel". 
       What if you target them with a benevolent spell? 
        How strictly do people play this? Do they allow the Druid to hire a Rogue 
        swordsman and cast "Poison" on him? Or the Elf to cast "Elvin 
        Grace" on his hired natives? 
      I was wondering if a character with Dissolve Spell 
        and Transform could transform one of his hirelings. If so, the Sorcerer 
        could hire a Rogue then turn him into a dragon. 
      I suppose a strict reading of the rules would make 
        them rebel (I guess they don't like mucking about with magic). 
      I would like to see that as a strategy though. 
        So is there any leeway here? If not, I guess you could cast "Peace" 
        on your hirelings in order to "fire" them.  
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Spell targets hireling, hireling rebels. Longstanding 
        official ruling that must be continued for the sake of uniformity.
 Unfortunately, there was a controversy over this 
        sort of thing at Avalon Hill, and I was (rightfully) obliged to answer 
        such questions in accordance with the Second Edition written rules. In 
        this case, since no exceptions to magic-induced treachery were specified, 
        none could be allowed. From that time on, the official ruling was that 
        any Spell aimed at a hireling triggers treachery. And of course I was 
        not allowed to change the rule in the Second Edition. I would have included 
        it as an optional rule, if I'd had the space in the rulebook. 
       To cut to the quick: the official ruling is that 
        any Spell cast on a hireling causes rebellion. Now, you don't like this, 
        and I don't like it (you can see from the list of Spells that I designed 
        some Spells for friendly use with natives). Since you are now adding more 
        optional rules, it is the perfect time to change it. That's why I proposed 
        the optional rule allowing Day Spells, Combat Spells, and Peace with Nature 
        to be cast without triggering rebellion (or battling, for that matter). 
        Transform, Melt into Mist, Hurricane Winds, and Power of the Pit should 
        not be used without rebellion. From the verisimilitude point of view, 
        I think the natives would neither like it nor consider it what they were 
        hired for. From a play-balance point of view, it gives too much power 
        to the magic users. (Actually, when I was writing the first edition rulebook 
        I would have allowed them, but when I had time to think it over, after 
        the game came out, I realized it would have been a mistake). 
         
       | 
  
   
    |   39. 
        Combat with Tranmorphized Characters 
         
        I wanted to make sure that I was correct about this: 
         
        Q: Can a character transformed (or absorbed) 
        into a monster play different maneuvers (e.g. Fight in Thrust and Maneuver 
        in Swing) or must the monster match attack and maneuver directions? I'd 
        always played the latter, but upon looking at the rules (46.4/3b) I see 
        I am probably mistaken. Can you verify? 
         
       A: Absolutely! Look 
        at 46.4/3: "Instead of playing his own chits, a transmorphized character 
        plays unused chits [note the plural] symbol side up a dummies, and *each* 
        [emphasis added] chit has the value defined by the spell." 
        Also, 46.4/3b says, he uses the move values to maneuver and the attack 
        values to attack. But they are in the direction as given by the dummy 
        chits. 
        This makes a character transmorphized into a monster *much* tougher than 
        a monster! 
      So, Richard, what say you? Can a character transformed 
        as a monster play a Fight in Thrust and a Move in Dodge? 
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Yes, he can. You have it precisely correct.
 However, I cannot resist commenting that there 
        is a similar spell in the Expansion kits (aka the complete game) which 
        does require the target to fight precisely like a monster. It is viewed 
        as an unfortunate Spell to be hit with, but it does have some interestingly 
        perverse tactical/diplomatic uses. It is of course a different Spell (hight 
        "Become") with its own (more potent) table of transformations, 
        and it is not clear whether it will make the final cut in the supergame. 
      However, in MR you are correct, there is no such 
        spell. Monstrous players play chits to define the directions of their 
        attacks and maneuvers. 
     | 
  
  
    |   40. 
        Dragon Essence and Transfomed Characters 
         
        A player with a tranmorphizing spell cast on him 
        loots the Dragon Essence. The rules say that when he loots an object a 
        character has the choice of activating, deactivating, or abandoning/dropping 
        the objects. On the other hand, items that a character is carrying when 
        he is transmorphized transmorphize with him and can't be used or abandoned. 
         
        There is a question of timing here: a character gets to choose what he 
        wants to do with item as soon as he loots it, but he is transmorphized 
        immediately when the Dragon Essence is uncovered. Which happens first? 
       So there are three possibilities that I see: 
         
        1. Player loots Dragon Essence, gets transformed before he has a chance 
        to abandon/drop it, plays entire game as Bird. 
      2. Player loots Dragon Essence, abandons item, 
        gets transformed after the item is abandoned, can exit clearing leaving 
        the Dragon Essence behind (or loot to see if he can pick it up). 
      3. Player loots Dragon Essence, gets transformed, 
        gets to treat the Dragon Essence as an item that the transformed creature 
        can carry (unless he is transformed into Mist that can't carry items). 
        Can carry the Dragon Essence out of clearing and abandon it anytime he 
        wants in the future. 
       | 
    
       Answer 
         
        The untransformed character must complete his LOOT 
        before he can transform. Completing his LOOT includes defining what he 
        does with the item. Therefore:
        A. He draws the item, looks at it, and then decides 
        what to do with it. He can keep it or drop it. 
        B. Then he transforms. 
      1. Only if he chooses to hang on to the Dragon 
        Essence. This actually happened in an early MR tournament, when the question 
        first arose. The player was intrigued and chose to be a bird, but he got 
        bored quickly and suicided out. Of course, you don't have to suicide if 
        you have a friend handy who can break spells. 
        I discussed the tactic thoroughly with one of my playtesters (maybe Jim 
        Stahler), and our conclusion was that the tactic was intriguing, but probably 
        not worthwhile. The best use is to become a bird, fly to explore remote 
        areas and attract monsters, then fly back to rendezvous with your spellbreaker. 
        This might actually be worthwhile, with some board/treasure configurations. 
      2. Perfectly legal. 
      3. Nope. Not allowed. 
       |