| Stephen McKnight | 
    Richard Hamblen | 
  
   
    |   1. 
        Wounds 
         
         Rule 11.2 (2nd ed.) states that a character "must 
        remove an active action chit from play and turn it face down to show it 
        is a wound." Presumably a fatigued chit is not active, so cannot 
        be wounded. (Opinions differ on magic chits converted to color.) On the 
        other hand, Rule 11.7 says that "when all a character's chits are 
        wounded, he is killed. When all of a character's chits are fatigued and/or 
        wounded, he can do only the rest activity." 
         
        So the question is what happens when a character receives a wound when 
        all his unwounded chits are fatigued? The fatigued chits can't be wounded 
        according to 11.2, but all the chits are not wounded so the character 
        isn't killed yet according to 11.7. (Also, can magic chits converted to 
        color be wounded?) 
         
        The accepted interpretation is that a character dies when he receives 
        a wound after all his chits are either wounded, fatigued, or converted 
        to color. This is certainly reasonable and provides an incentive for characters 
        to rest their fatigue frequently. It also increases character's vulnerability 
        which is reduced when playing the "serious wound" optional rule. 
        But it seems like there may have been an intent for something else to 
        happen since there the rules provide for a character to do rest phases 
        if all his chits are fatigued and/or wounded. 
         
        This is the only question that, as far as I can tell, can't be resolved 
        by a single-word correction of the rules, and I'd appreciate your ideas 
        on the subject.  
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
         You have hit upon something that has two answers, 
        which requires a bit of explanation. When I was writing the second edition 
        rules, length became a serious consideration. In several cases I wrote 
        a rule one way, and then to save space either I or some editor rewrote 
        the rule to save space. In some cases, the rewrite corrupted some part 
        of the rule. This is such a case. 
         
        My original intent was to say: When you get a wound, you must wound one(unwounded) 
        chit. It must be an active chit, if possible; you cannot wound a fatigued 
        or enchanted chit until all of your active chits have been wounded. If 
        you get a wound when all of your active chits have already been wounded, 
        you can wound a fatigued or enchanted chit. When all of your chits are 
        wounded, you die. 
         
        That was my original intent, but then the rules were shortened and published. 
        Once a rulebook has been published I feel obliged to follow the published 
        rules, so I now say that you have it right: if you get a wound when you 
        have no active (unfatigued, unenchanted) chits, you die. 
         
        That is what the rules as published mean to imply. 
         
     | 
  
   
    |   2. 
        Dwarf's Capabilities when Following 
         
         Rule 27.7 says that "notice that by following 
        a guide who has extra phases, followers can do more activities and can 
        move farther than they could move on their own." On the other hand, 
        in the description of the Dwarf's Short Legs, it states "The Dwarf 
        can never use 'sunlight' phases--he is always limited to two phases per 
        day (plus any extra phases due to his belongings or spells.)" So, 
        can the Dwarf follow the Amazon and move, for example, five clearings? 
         
        The interpretation that I favor is that the Dwarf is only doing one thing, 
        following the Amazon, and that 27.7 specifically says he can move more 
        clearings by following. The description of the Dwarf could be read that 
        "The Dwarf can never [record] sunlight phases..." This "put 
        the little fellow in the rucksack and go" interpretation encourages 
        inter-player diplomacy, which always improves the game. 
         
        I also recall playing Magic Realm in Northern Virginia with Jim Stahler 
        in 1979 or 1980 and discussing the advantage for the Dwarf of hiring a 
        native leader to follow. (And the Dwarf can use the advantage, heaven 
        knows!) 
         
        Complicating the question is a ruling attributed to the General magazine 
        that the Dwarf can use at most one sunlight phase while following. This 
        doesn't make anyone very happy because it requires the leader to specify 
        which are sunlight phases and which are basic phases, and the rules aren't 
        very specific what happens to a follower when he doesn't do the guide's 
        activity (except when he stops following.) 
         
        Any light (no pun intended) you can give on this would be useful.  
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
         You are correct--the Dwarf's sunlight limitation 
        applies only to the phases he can record, not those he can do while following. 
        To be explicit: When a Dwarf follows, he can do any sunlight activities 
        his leader does (picture him hurrying along clumsily behind everyone else, 
        grumbling continuously and creatively). Someone else made that ruling, 
        long after I was no longer responsible for answering MR questions. When 
        I learned of it, I told them to correct it, but I don't think they ever 
        did. In my opinion, they were and are very wrong! Being unable to keep 
        up with a group is a very serious flaw in the game. 
         
        Incidentally, I remember Jim telling me about your discussion. Glad to 
        hear from you!  
     | 
  
   
    |   3. 
        Casting a Spell on Yourself While Hidden 
         
         In the 2nd edition, Rule 41.3/2 says: "When 
        the spellcaster specifies a character or denizen as his target, he and 
        his target are instantly unhidden; if he specifies anything else as his 
        target, he remains hidden. He can specify a hidden target only if he found 
        "Hidden Enemies" that day." 
         
        I had always assumed that there was an implied "another" in 
        the rule, as in the first edition rules: "When the spellcaster specifies 
        [another] character...". Clearly the idea that a hidden character 
        would have to have found Hidden Enemies to cast a spell on himself is 
        silly. 
         
        Nevertheless, for a number of players, the spellcaster is a character 
        (and the target), so he should become unhidden when casting a spell on 
        himself. This is most often used with the Ambush optional rule, so the 
        character must pass a hide roll to remain hidden when he casts a spell 
        on himself (despite the fact that he is also the target, and so should 
        become unhidden for that reason.) 
         
        I would be interested in knowing if the dropping of the "another" 
        between the 1st and 2nd edition rules was deliberate or an oversight. 
         
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
         It was deliberate, after much thought. You have 
        been misled by a different error in the rules. There is a sentence missing 
        at the end of 41.3/2. The sentence: 
         
        "Of course, a hidden character can specify himself as target whether he 
        has found hidden enemies or not, but if does so he becomes unhidden." 
        This sentence was another casualty of the shortening frenzy. I distinctly 
        remember being told that "it's obvious you can always pick yourself as 
        target, and you already say that you become unhidden". I disagreed then 
        (to no avail), and I disagree now. The sentence belongs in there, and 
        I must say I am delighted to hear from someone who (presumably) agrees 
        with me. 
         
        As to why I changed this from the first edition: I disliked having the 
        spellcaster jump out in the clearing to cast a spell on himself, but I 
        also disliked having him hide behind a bush while he chants and gestures, 
        and then call up magic with its associated light, sound, and other manifestations, 
        all in perfect privacy. I greatly prefer using the AMBUSH rule, to make 
        things unpredictable.  
     | 
  
   
    |   4. 
        Flowers of Rest (1) 
         
         I don't know if you have seen the debate on the 
        Magic Realm list-serve about the Flowers of Rest, what one person calls 
        the "most questionable item." 
         
        I'm not sure I should call it a debate because nearly everyone is in agreement 
        except me. But I thought that I should talk to an expert to see what another 
        reasoned response would be. 
         
        The question involves the effect of the Flowers of Rest on: 
        1) A character with the Wither Curse 
        2) A transmorphized character who also has a fatigued chit. 
         
        In the case of the Wither curse, there are those who believe that the 
        Flowers don't put the character to sleep since the chits can't be rested, 
        those who say that the character sleeps and his chits are rested (but 
        the curse isn't broken), and then there's me. I subscribe to the "bad 
        mattress" theory. I think that the character sleeps, because the 
        first effect of the Flowers is to put to sleep any character with fatigued 
        chits, but because of the curse, the chits aren't rested. The character 
        wakes up at Sunset with a "not quite rested" feeling, like he 
        slept on a bad mattress and then falls asleep the next day (unless he 
        runs out of the clearing).  
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
         In the case you post, the character cannot rest, 
        so the flowers of rest do not affect him. 
         
        Generally, I mean the rules to be taken exactly as they are written. No 
        exception stating that the flowers of rest breaks the wither curse, so 
        it does not. The explanation of the Flowers of Rest on page 70 (section 
        7) states that it is the resting of the asterisk chit that puts him to 
        sleep. Thus, no rest, so no sleep. 
         
        Generally I find rules-niggling distasteful, but in the second Magic Realm 
        rulebook I tried to make my language as precise as possible in the very 
        very very vain hope of diminishing the questions. Sigh. Of course, I also 
        tried to make the rules intuitive, but that hope was even vainer, especially 
        in a fantasy game where everybody is imagining their own reality.  
     | 
  
   
    |   5. 
        Flowers of Rest (2) 
         
         If someone falls asleep and misses their turn, 
        they can't block or be blocked. But do they attract monsters? Some have 
        suggested that they attract monsters only if they have completed at least 
        one phase before falling asleep. The description does say that if they 
        haven't moved, the "skip their turn." Again, I'm in the minority 
        here. I think they had a turn even if they didn't have a chance to do 
        anything.  
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
         When a player is put asleep by the Flowers of Rest, 
        he loses the rest of his turn, including the finishing of his turn. Thus, 
        he does not cause any chits to turn up, he does not cause monsters to 
        appear in his tile, and he does not cause monsters to move to his clearing. 
         
        In a sense, he is One With the Daisies. He is not really there, until 
        Sunset. 
         
        I will resist the temptation to comment on all the implications for play, 
        and just ask: Does that answer your question? 
         
        Hope so. 
     | 
  
   
    |   6. 
        Stacking Order of Native Items (1) 
         
         Rule 35.7 says, "When an unhired leader is 
        killed, his groups belongings are abandoned in the clearing, in the same 
        order they are stacked in the group's box." 
        The problem is there is no agreement on the order in which they should 
        be stacked in the box. 
     | 
    Answer 
       
       They are stacked in the box in the same order they 
      were set up there. When you trade with the natives, do not disturb the order 
      of the goods. When you sell things to the natives, put the things sold at 
      the bottom of their layer of goods. | 
  
   
    7. Stacking 
      Order of Native Items (2) 
       
       I made an argument based on the rules and some fundamental 
      principles (most valuable things are hardest to get) that they should go 
      into the box with the horses on the top and the treasures on the bottom. 
      Briefly, when I look at the set-up description in the "Prepare for 
      Play" section, Rule P1.3/4 and P1.3/5 say "put the Small Treasures, 
      weapons, armor, and round horse counter in the box where they are listed" 
      presumably in that order. 
      But does the one listed first go on top or on bottom? | 
    Answer 
       
       The first one listed goes into the box first, and 
      is thus on the bottom. Etc. | 
  
   
    |   8. 
        Stacking Order of Native Items (3) 
         
         Comparing with the previous rule P1.3/3 where it 
        describes the Large and Small treasures, it says: "Put the small 
        Treasures and large Treasure in the boxes where they are listed. Put the 
        small Treasures in the box first, so the large Treasures are on the top." 
        Note the order: those on the bottom are listed first. 
         
        On this basis, this would say that the Small Treasures are on the bottom, 
        then the weapons, then armor, with the horses on top. This is exactly 
        opposite what most e-mail game masters are doing now. 
         
        There are actually two other arguments for this order as well. 
         
        a) If you are playing on a board, it is almost impossible to balance the 
        treasures on top of a pile of horses, weapon, and armor. (Something like 
        balancing a mattress on top of a Coke bottle.) The treasures go much easier 
        underneath with the armor, weapons, and horse counters on top. 
         
        b) The average gold value of the 44 Small Treasures is 6.1 
        The average gold value of the 13 weapons 
        is 6.5. 
        The average gold value of the 14 pieces of armor is 7.9 
        The average gold value of the 15 horses is 13.7 
        So putting the Treasures on the bottom, then the weapons, then the armor, 
        with the horses on top puts the most valuable things on the top and the 
        least on the bottom, making the more valuable stuff harder to get. 
         
        Teresa Michelsen pointed out that if you follow the order as printed in 
        the boxes on the setup card, you get an even more ergonomic arrangement: 
        treasures on bottom, followed by horses, armor, and weapons in order of 
        counter size. 
     | 
    Answer 
       
       You're both right. The items should be stacked as 
      you say; I did it that way to make the most valuable items the hardest to 
      get, and also so that they stack comfortably. | 
  
   
    9. Stacking 
      Order of Native Items (4) 
       
       Also, what about new acquisitions. If the Order buy 
      one treasure and two weapons from a character, does the treasure go under 
      the treasure card and the weapons under their other weapons? | 
    Answer 
       
       Exactly, although this is an area where house rules 
      should be specified to avoid misunderstandings. As the rules are written, 
      purchased weapons might easily go under Small Treasures that are already 
      there, and I have seen it played both ways. My preference is to keep the 
      weapons together, and the Small Treasures together.  | 
  
   
   
    10. 
      Enchanted Cards Owned by Hired Native Groups (1) 
       
       An enchanted treasure is held by a native group, 
      and it has been turned up by a character looking at it. I assume from the 
      rules that it would have to be revealed and be active, giving color magic 
      to the native leader's clearing, even if a character just examined the treasures 
      during a trade roll. | 
    Answer 
       
       You assume right. Looking at an enchanted card during 
      a TRADE phase turns it on. | 
  
   
    11. 
      Enchanted Cards Owned by Hired Native Groups (2) 
       
      Now what happens if that native group is hired? Rule 
      32.2/1 says that when hired "the leader's own belongings are left on 
      the SET UP CARD, out of play." But 3.4/3 says that "when a character 
      finds [an enchanted card] he must turn it face up, and it stays face up 
      for the rest of the game, even if is put back on the SET UP CARD or on the 
      map. It cannot be inactivated." 
       
      So can you use your hired leader as a source of color magic, or is the card 
      simply not used at all?  | 
    Answer 
       
       As long as the leader has the face-up Enchanted card, 
      he is a source of its color magic for everyone in his clearing, whether 
      he is hired or not. | 
  
   
    12. 
      Enchanted Cards Owned by Hired Native Groups (3) 
       
       If the hired leader is killed, Rule 35.7 says that 
      his belonging remain out of play on the SET UP CARD until he regenerates. 
      In this case the color of the enchanted cards must be inactive, because 
      there's no clearing defined for it to affect! | 
     
       Answer 
         
         It is not inactive, it is just unusable. It remains 
        on the set-up card, radiating color magic into some unknown dimension, 
        until a new leader for that group pops up. 
      You've put your finger on a hole in the game, not 
        just a hole in the rules. My problem was that I didn't want the players 
        to hire a native group just so they could send it off and then loot its 
        home base, so I wanted the group's belongings to move with its leader. 
        However, I also did not want the players to hire a native leader just 
        to take him out and kill him for his group's treasures (e.g. "hey, 
        native leader, go and kill that Tremendous Octopus for me"). So I 
        am stuck with this rule, and this hole in the game. 
      Of course, the caching rule (Advanced Rule 1) would 
        solve the problem adequately by leaving the goods behind (with a new rule 
        or two to cover all of the variations), but I was unwilling to add another 
        complex rule to the game, particularly in the early encounters. In fact, 
        this is a perfect example of how the game changed because of breaking 
        the rules into encounters. 
         
        If you'd like a rationalization of the rule as it is, imagine the hired 
        leader hiding his group's goods in the woods as he travels. While he lives 
        he keeps an eye on them, and scares off any bears or squirrels that might 
        try to carry them off. When he dies, the squirrels carry off his group's 
        goods, and only his successor as leader is determined enough to comb the 
        woods to get back what is rightfully his (stubborn folk, these natives). 
     | 
  
   
    13. 
      Running Away from Transformed Monsters (1) 
       
       The example here is a magic character faces two monsters 
      and transforms the faster one into a bird (or frog, or squirrel). 
      Is the bird assigned to his sheet even though the transform table says that 
      the bird "doesn't attack"? 
      If so, does the bird prevent the character from running away? | 
    Answer 
       
       Yes, it is assigned to his sheet, and yes, it interferes 
      with the action chits he can play. | 
  
   
    |   14. 
        Running Away from Transformed Monsters (2) 
         
         We always played that the bird (or frog) keeps 
        trying to attack until it is killed (or combat ends due to two rounds 
        without wounds or fatigue, etc.) 
        It makes the Transform spell useful (although 
        risky) as an offensive spell to transform monsters into (hopefully) less 
        dangerous ones. 
        My guideline to transmorphize questions is Rule 46.1 which says that characters/denizens 
        behave like they were untransmorphized with the limited exceptions listed 
        in the rules. Would you like to cast some light? 
     | 
    Answer 
       
       Trust me: treat the bird (or frog) just like a non-attacking 
      (light-side up) spear Goblin (rule 24.2). 
      Rule 46.4/3b says that the creature can use its move factor to charge (during 
      the encounter step), which means its move factor limits the time chits that 
      the target can play. 
      Rule 46.4/3a says MELT INTO MIST can only run away. If I had wanted birds 
      and frogs to run away, I would have said so right there. 
      I always liked the idea of a bird or frog charging into battle. It also 
      enables some interesting uses of the Spell-breaking Spells. Adds punch to 
      exorcisms. | 
  
   
    15. 
      Transmorphized Characters 
       
       What are the attributes in daytime of transmorphized 
      characters? Does the Dwarf still have only two phases if he is a Troll? 
      Does the Witch King still have to use Magic Sight to search if he is an 
      Eagle? 
       
      The rule book [46.1/1] seems to say yes, but this is an issue of controversy. | 
    Answer 
       
       Yes, a transformed Dwarf still has only two phases, 
      and a transformed Witch King still uses Magic Sight. | 
  
   
    16. 
      Enchanted Cards and Wish for Vision 
       
       When a player examines a treasure pile due to a "Wish 
      for Vision" and finds an enchanted card, does the card turn face up 
      and start radiating color magic? Generally this is played that the answer 
      is no, since the Wishes table says, "Return the cards to their box 
      without turning them up or changing their order." | 
    Answer 
       
       Exactly right. When you look at an Enchanted card 
      as a result of a "Wish for Vision", you do not turn the Enchanted 
      card face up. | 
  
   
    17. 
      Do Head/Club Hits Turn Monsters Red-Side-Up? 
       
       When the head or club of a Tremendous monsters hits 
      (but not the body), does the monster flip? I would have said no, except 
      for the note in the Missile Table: "If the result is Negligible or 
      less, the hit inflicts no harm but it still counts as a hit: if a weapon 
      attacks it is unalerted, if a Tremendous monster attacks it turns red side 
      up." The reference to the Tremendous monster could only apply to the 
      head of a Dragon using the Advanced Rule 4.6 where dragon heads breathe 
      fire and rolls on the missile table. This suggests that if the head hits, 
      the body flips red-side-up. | 
    Answer 
       
       Right again. A Tremendous monster that hits with 
      its head or club turns red side up. I think this is a change from the first 
      edition rulebook. 
       | 
  
   
    18. 
      Do Followers Attract Monsters? (1) 
       
       Rule 27.8 says, "When the guide's turn ends, 
      the following stops and all of the followers are put back on the map in 
      the clearing. They cause monsters to move and summon denizens normally." 
       
      The antecedent of "They" in the second sentence is vague, but 
      it seems that it must refer to followers and not the group as a whole. So 
      the Guide and the Follower *each* cause monsters to move and summon denizens 
      normally.  | 
    Answer 
       
       Exactly so. To be explicit, when a monster on the 
      SET UP CARD is triggered by a sound chit, the guide causes the monster to 
      appear in the clearing specified by the sound chit, and the follower(s) 
      cause the monster to move to the guide/follower(s) clearing. 
      The pronoun "They" requires a plural referent, and the only 
        plural noun in that sentence is "followers". "Group" 
        is a singular noun and requires a singular pronoun "it". I'm 
        not trying to be snotty here--I know that poor English creeps into everyone's 
        rules, mine very definitely included, but in this case I meant exactly 
        what I said. 
        | 
  
   
    |   19. 
        Do Followers Attract Monsters? (2) 
         
         This is what happens, according to 27.5, when a 
        follower stops following in the middle of a turn: "Each time the 
        guide starts an activity, each follower has the option to stop following. 
        If he stops following then he does not do the activity, his turn ends 
        and he is put in the guide's on the map; when the guide finishes the phase 
        the game pieces in the ex-follower's tile summon denizens in the normal 
        manner, and the ex-follower can block and be blocked normally." 
         
        Example 1: The Amazon follows the Berserker who does M / M / S / R* / 
        M. At the beginning of the Search phase, the Amazon stops following. At 
        the end of the Berserker's Search phase, the Amazon's turn ends. She draws 
        monsters to the clearing who block her and her former guide, the Berserker. 
      Example 2: The Amazon follows the Druid. At the 
        end of the Druid's turn, the tile chits are turned face down again and 
        don't attract monsters. Then his follower, the Amazon, is put back on 
        the board. Her turn ends, the chits are turned face up again and monsters 
        come to the clearing to block her and the Druid. 
      Example 3: Amazon follows Berserker. Dragons are 
        prowling. When Berserker ends turn in BL1, he turns up the Lair chit and 
        a Dragon appears in at the Lair in BL3. Then the Amazon finishes her turn 
        and is put back on the map. She attracts denizens normally at the end 
        of her turn, so the Dragon at the Lair moves to BL3 and blocks her and 
        the Berserker. 
         
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Quite right. Each follower has his own end of turn. 
        I will comment (in example 2) that I tried to design the Druid as the 
        sort of character who could go off alone in peace, not as a tour guide 
        for an army.
       I am of the opinion that regardless of whether 
        the monster is tracking its prey by sight, sound, or smell, he would find 
        a crowd quicker than an individual, so the rule specifies that the followers 
        summon monsters when they stop following. 
        At this point let's clarify exactly what is at stake. The point is whether 
        a monster called from the SET UP CARD ends up in the clearing specified 
        by the site chit, or the clearing containing the group. The followers 
        do NOT summon any additional monsters to that tile that turn--each chit 
        can summon only one box of monsters per turn. 
      Case 1: One intruder steps softly into the clearing. 
        The monster at the site wakes up and says "What's That?!". He 
        gets up and looks out at the other clearings in the distance, sniffs the 
        air, and listens, but he sees, hears, and smells nothing more, so he stays 
        at his site, looking around suspiciously. 
      Case 2: A group steps softly into the clearing, 
        many times. The monster at the site wakes up and says "Wheee! A party!" 
        And, of course, he doesn't want to miss the party, so he goes looking 
        for it. Speaking versimilitudinously, the demons pinpoint the clearing 
        due to the increased number of bodies they can see, smell, and/or hear. 
        It certainly works that way with deer--you can sneak up on a deer when 
        you're alone, but I've never seen or heard of a crowd doing it. (I don't 
        hunt, but I do walk the woods.) 
      In any case, the rules say the followers do summon 
        the monsters to their clearing. The added safety [of following] is due 
        to having more people with which to fight the monsters.  
     | 
  
   
    |   20. 
        Harm greater than Tremendous 
         
         Is there Harm Greater than Tremendous? The 2nd 
        Edition rules do not seem to have any provision for harm that exceeds 
        Tremendous; at least Rule 23.1 does not list any such harm. The Maximum 
        damage in the First Edition is gone. 
        Red-side-up monsters that hit just kill automatically without harming 
        armor or horses. 
         
        Ordinarily there is no need to consider harm greater than Tremendous, 
        but when playing the "Serious Wounds" advanced rule, Tremendous 
        harm does not kill the Berserker when he has played his Berserk chit. 
        The way I read the rules, a T* blow from a Guard Great Swordsman or a 
        M** + 3 level hit from the Medium Bow can only create Tremendous harm, 
        which only gives the Berserker a serious wound. So the berserk Scandinavian 
        is invulnerable to a single-hit kill! 
         
        This may be an oversight in the rules, but it does seem to read that way. 
          
     | 
     
       Answer 
         
        Yup, it's an oversight--I missed the interaction 
        of Advanced rule 4.5 and the Berserk chit. The rule does work the way 
        it is, but it makes the Berserker too powerful. 
        I suggest adding a "Special:" rule to Advanced rule 4.5: When 
        damage exceeding Tremendous is inflicted on a Tremendous target, the target 
        is killed.
        |